top of page

Artist of June 2019; LUMiN!

Singer, producer, songwriter, there’s many things Austin Massirman can do. Better known as LUMiN, his talent and passion for music strives to be the best he could be.

LUMiN

As he went on tour with artists like OAR, he’s been winning over people’s hearts and creating new and highly engaged fans. Which is another thing he’s a mastermind at; creating friendships between his supporters - and you can see that he truly appreciates them (the feeling is mutual:) )


With only a handful of singles released so far, LUMiN’s music style is undescribable. The singer finds a way to make every song different than the other. His music will never get out of your head, but who’s complaining?!

 

I had the opportunity to chat with LUMiN, here’s the interview:


1- where did the name LUMiN come from? And what makes it so unique?

---> When I was a young lad my mother used to call me her little LUMiN. I suppose it meant that I was her little light. When I was coming up with a name for my artist project I decided it would be best to go with something that actually has deep meaning to me.


2- your latest single is called Bloody Hell, which is a little edgier than your other singles - I guess you could say, what inspired that change? Did it come naturally?

---> It definitely did come naturally. Rarely do I ever have anything planned out when I’m writing, it’s kind of just whatever comes out of me in the moment. I also think the subject matter of what I was writing about made me naturally gravitate towards edgier vocal styles and production. Lyrically I always like to get down and dirty, I think it’s just more evident with the style of this song.



3- you’re known for the little skeletons on singles cover arts, if each one had their own personality or emotion, what would they be and why?

---> Heaven Sent - she would be very cold hearted, selfish, and toxic. I think vindictive and cruel as well. She gets her kicks on causing trouble. She is after all a devil (even if heaven Sent her)

Crossing Lines - She would be kind hearted and whimsical. Explorative and excitable but definitely insecure and unsure of herself. She knows what her heart wants but let’s her fear dictate her path a bit too often. This skull is always Crossing Lines!

IDWF - Definitely a bit of an emo hipster nerd. A lot of sadness and emotional hang ups. A hopeless and helpless romantic who thrives on self sabotage. This little skull has an overflowing well of emotion, but doesn’t want to feel any of it!

Bloody Hell - we see a return of the crossing lines skull on mr PiNK LUMiNADE’s phone here. Her character is mostly the same here. Pink LUMiNADE skull is an angry vengeful spirit who has decided to give up the idea of not feeling, and instead embraces his darkest emotions. He is full of negative thoughts and memories, and doesn’t care to spare anyone the details. Bloody Hell this guy is spooky!


4- any last messages to fans or people who are interested in your music?

---> First off I am grateful that there are even people out there who are interested in my music. I started making music as a way to cope with emotions that were too difficult to deal with in any other way. Making music is sort of my own personal antidote for sadness, depression, heartbreak. Listening to music is that way for me as well, except when I listen to music I can get down with some happy stuff. When I’m happy I’m not typically inspired to create, because those emotions are easy for me, and I’m able to just live in that moment or feeling. When something hurts me so deep that I can’t seem to get it out, writing a song about it is sort of like draining the poison. People say once you start acknowledging and talking about your pain, it no longer has this silent power over you. I think I have so much emotion that having people around the world hearing me scream BLOODY HELL is like my way of mass release. I also know that as someone who listens to music, it helps me to hear songs about things I am going through, as it lets me know I’m not alone. I like knowing that out there I am potentially letting people know that they are not alone when they listen to and relate to my music.

I also want to let anyone reading this know if they need help with anything difficult in life, don’t be afraid to reach out to people around you. Your friends, family, a therapist, or even me. I know my music is dark but I’m actually a pretty happy person, and that comes from years of learning that life’s not about completely overcoming your darkness, it’s about appreciating all of the light that lives in you, and is always ready to shine if you let it. <3 LUMiN


A playlist full of songs chosen by LUMiN, here.

Connect with LUMiN: Spotify|Instagram|Twitter|Facebook

5 views0 comments
bottom of page