top of page

Meet Raffaella; opening for Sigrid, her debut EP (INTERVIEW).

Updated: Nov 18, 2019




The New York pop princess has had quite the year; opening for Norwegian pop artist Sigrid across North America on her Sucker Punch tour, and she released her debut EP Ballerina, just a few months ago. I had the opportunity to chat with Raffaella, check the interview out below.





 

You're currently on tour, opening for Sigrid, how much fun has it been so far?

---> More fun than I could’ve imagined! 


Have you caught people singing along to your songs during your set yet?

---> Yes it feels like I’m hallucinating it’s a dream come true.


Being on tour allows you to have a lot of alone time, have you found yourself writing new music this time around?

---> I’ve been journaling a lot and voice memo-ing a bunch of random melodies that pop into my head so I’m looking forward to figuring out how to make all the different ideas work together.

 

You recently released your debut EP, do you feel like "Ballerina" is a great way to introduce who you are musically?

---> Definitely, I think that song feels like the most accurate portrayal of myself, as an artist and as a person. 


Did the name of the EP come before the song name, or the opposite?

---> The EP name came after I wrote "Ballerina". I liked that the song about my biggest regrets tied together what I would consider my first real adult accomplishment.


And the cover arts for all the singles, as well as the EP, are crazy creative, how did you come up with them?

---> I’m glad you dig them! I’m fortunate enough to have some insanely talented friends who made them - the "Sororicide" and "Bruce Willis" artwork were done by Charlotte Bravin Lee and the rest, including the EP cover, were done by Megan Tatem (photo was taken by Olivia Nikkanen).


The music videos are so well done too, how much fun was being on set?

---> A lot of fun, having my friends there with me made it feel like it was christmas morning.


Thanks so much for letting me interview you! Last question; which artists/bands are you currently into? 

---> I’ve been listening to a lot of Samia, Joji and Stella Donnelly.


Keep an eye out for Raffella. The North American tour may be over, but this definitely won't be the last time you hear of her name.


Connect with Raffaella: Instagram|Spotify|Twitter|Facebook


28 views0 comments
bottom of page